Chariots of Fire

Chariots of Fire

Stage adaptation by Mike Bartlett

Based on the Enigma Productions Limited motion picture

By arrangement with Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation And Allied Stars S.A. Panama

Screenplay by Colin Welland

Dates: 12-16 March 2019, 7.30 pm (8pm Friday/2.30pm Saturday)

Venue: Oxford Playhouse

Director: Simon Tavener

Book tickets

Contact box office for group discounts.

1924. The Paris Olympic Games. A devout Scottish Christian runs for the glory of God. The son of a Jewish immigrant runs to overcome prejudice. Two young track athletes who live for the beautiful purity of running and who prevail in the face of overwhelming odds.

Based on the extraordinary true story of Eric Liddell and Harold Abrahams, Chariots of Fire is a timeless tale of hope, honour and belief. Adapted from Colin Welland’s Oscar-winning original screenplay, Mike Bartlett's script brings one of the most thrilling Olympic stories to life with a unique fusion of theatre and live athletics.

Oxford Theatre Guild is transforming the Playhouse auditorium into its very own stadium giving an immersive experience that evokes the 1924 Paris Olympics, complete with the iconic Vangelis score.

The production is dedicated to the memory of another great athlete and Oxford legend - Sir Roger Bannister. 

On-stage seating is available - please contact the box office for more information.

Birdwatching Society PresidentAndrew White
Lord BirkenheadAngus Fraser
Mr LiddellColin Macnee
FosterDaniel Taylor
Eric LiddellEdward Smith
Jennie LiddellEllen Publicover
Prince of WalesGuy Grimsley
Lord SutherlandJames McDougall
Aubrey MontagueJaroslav Fowkes
Charlie PaddockJoi McHale
Andy LindsayJonathan Dagnell
Sam MussabiniJonathan Kay
Peep BoKate Morris
Harold AbrahamsKieran Chambers
ConnieKirsty Ralston
Sandy McGrathMatt Addis
Florence MackenzieMegan Ruppel
Head PorterMichael Taylor
Master of CaiusNick Quartley
Master of TrinityPaul Clifford
Pitti SingRachael Twyford
Sybil EversRachel Smith
Jackson ScholzReuel-Eli James
G&S Society PresidentRichard Spong
WatsonRobert Hoare
AliceRuth Walker
Lord CadoganTim Eyres
G&S Society SecretaryToby Lee

All other characters are played by members of the cast.